Swoon Patterns-Stella Weekender Bag Review

Remember the Sew -A -Long with my mom? She and I decided to sew the Stella Weekender from Swoon Patterns.  Well here’s my Stella Weekender Bag.

1-IMG_9743

Complementing Accessories

Jewelry Roll using tutorial from Positively Splended.

1-IMG_9745

1-IMG_9732 1-IMG_9733

Lingerie Bag

1-IMG_9734

 

About Swoon:

Alicia has great quality professional patterns, fabric, notions, subscriptions clubs,  a remarkable FB group which includes a discount for members and outstanding customer service!

Pattern Review:

The Stella pattern is a verbally detailed advanced intermediate patten available as  a PDF or mailed paper pattern and retails for $5.95-$9.95.  The pattern yields a beautifully well constructed quality handmade bag.  The pattern has several pieces and will cost quite a bit so save your coupons for this one.  When choosing your fabric get the best quality canvas as your bag will be stunning when complete.  If you are hesitant Alicat&co has a sew a long featuring the Stella that is very detailed and helpful.  I followed the Sew along exclusively.  My bag is no where near perfect but  great fabrics can mask some of those parts I am not so satisfied with.  I highly recommend this pattern to the advanced sewists and the adventurous sewer.

Would I make the Pattern Again: Absolutely!

     1-IMG_9728  1-IMG_9729

 

1-IMG_9739 1-IMG_9737

Fabric:

Exterior:  Jessica Jones: Outside Oslo in Dusk Wildflower Canvas from
The Needleshop

V and Co Color Theory from Second City Quilt Company:  Gray Poppies

Piping: Random Fabric from Joanns

Piping pre-made …too big…then removed cover of pre-made piping and made my own.

1-IMG_1735 1-IMG_1737 1-IMG_1736

5-IMG_1809

removing the premade fabric

 

Modifications

110 % larger(more on this later)

Added 5 interior pockets

1-IMG_9737

Custom Piping

Added Purse Feet

               1-IMG_9741 1-IMG_9740

Added shoulder strap using a tutorial from Sara Lawson of Sew Sweetness

1-IMG_9729

Securely stitched the straps differently

1-IMG_9736

Tools Used:

Piping Foot

 4-IMG_1790

Narrow  Zipper foot-miracle worker!

John James Sharps for hand sewing-drop in lining

1/4 piecing foot-top stitching

seam gauge

Bias Cut Ruler-making piping

double Side fusible tape-making piping

Iron

Iron Press-works miracles pressing interfacing

How Long to Complete:

2 Weeks

Likes about the pattern:

Once you are complete you  have A Great Professional Quality *Handmade* product.

Dislikes about the pattern:

Not really a dislike more of  a preference.  I would have preferred more photos but to be fair.  Alicia provides free patterns in which you can see how her patterns are imaged.  This is simply a wishlist but I knew how the photos would be before purchasing the pattern.

Snapfu’s

Scaling the pattern 116% whoops  didn’t realize that so yes my bag is HUGE.  Here are a few inside picks for Scale.

1-IMG_9437 1-IMG_9441

I ran just short of piping…what is that 1/8 of an inch…..NO Words.

1-IMG_1832

Pockets are in the wrong order, lol.  It should be the small pocket then the large pocket.

Used non Swivel hardware for the straps…..simply do not like those.  Easy Fix though I can always remake it.

Cut a hole in the exterior panel and removed 9″ by 1″ piece. DUMB…WITH. Yup I had to purchase another yard of fabric.

My Difficulties:

THE STRAPS..ACK..my goodness it took me like 30 minutes each to flip them inside out.

2-IMG_1833

Sewing the bag after adding the piping……..My machine was in protest!  My machine is not the best for thick seams either but we worked it out….I used the Jedi Mind Trick.  The bag became the death box…like pin head from Hellraiser!!!!!  I shed blood…seriously with all those pins sticking out keep baby wipes in your sewing space…trust me….I was wounded……cry me  river!!!!

1-IMG_1840

Drop in Lining …simply need to practice and Alicia has a tutorial on her site to help.

1-IMG_1841

1-IMG_9738

When assembling the bag the exterior and the lining did not match in size.  Yikes what did I do wrong.  I had extra fabric which I am sure was all me and I bet a seam allowance issue.  I fudged it though and ….Made it work:)  The more you sew the better you become!

 

Total Cost:

$$$$ Alot, but totally worth it.   LOL

 

Happy Sewing!

Toodles!

Emonie

P.S. Would you like go see more pattern reviews before sewing your handmade item check out patternreview.com

Comments

  1. Beautiful work

Leave a Reply

