Stella Sew Along- Week 2 Handles and Piping

1-IMG_9407

 

This bag is something!  I love the way its turning out.

Mom Update: She is all cut out but had a funeral to attend so I will put her updates in next week.

This week I added the piping around the  main panels and worked on the handles.

Piping:  This fabric I chose did not match any colors  so I had to make the piping.  Its more like a banana yellow.

5-IMG_1809

 

I ordered piping….note to self..read dimensions…piping on top is from prepackaged.  Rope is what I ordered as it was more for upholstery.

3-IMG_1737

So basically I unraveled what was in the pre packaged piping and removed the cording.  I cut my strips and started making my piping.

1-IMG_1735

 

2-IMG_1736

 

4-IMG_1790

 

 

I am getting better at making piping.  Here is the traditional way and here is the short cut way I used. Undecided on which method I like.  How about I was this close…..really????

1-IMG_1832

Another issue I had with the piping is I didn’t place my tape off center so I would have a clean seam.  Gotta work on that.

Handles:

Now the handles can be tricky so I drew my seams and followed the markings carefully. They are really firm due to using the Peltex 71 which made it a challenge to flip right side out…..but the results give you a nice and sturdy handle.  I would also like to make a fabric slide from Sew Sweetness.

1-IMG_1835

I used my 1/4 quilting foot to make even stitching on the handles.
1-IMG_1833

How cute are these scissors!

1-IMG_1837

Here’s where I made a modification: The pattern recommended putting an X across your handles I didn’t like the look of that so I did straight lines that reminded me of quilting.

1-IMG_9406I want these babies to stay…with no issues.  Next I had to figure out where I was going to put my label.  I figured it out.

1-IMG_9404

When sewing for myself I used my Emoniedezigns label that I ordered here.  This time I added a little placard to make it pop.  After all this work I NEED you to know that I made this!

1-IMG_9407

Alright see you next week!

Toodles,

Emonie

 

 

 

Comments

  1. mamasbeeneez says:

    What a cute bag…Excellent job gurl

Leave a Reply

