First Quilt Ever

I am a quilter.

One of my goals for 2015 was to learn to quilt.  I got a little tasting by  making my mug rug.

I decided to just dive right into it an make a throw sized quilt using the Fat Quarters Shop Layers a Charm Quilt from their short cut quilt series.  When it comes to quilting I like modern, easy, quick quilts.  This quilt fit the bill.

Recipe:

V and Co Color Theory Layer Cake that I purchased from my LQS(local quilt shop).

Moda Bella Solids in white

 

Layers cakes are 10 x 10  inch pre-cut squares-(Pre-cut=fast)

1-IMG_1701

 

I laid out the squares and chose the colors I wanted and begin to add.  On my lunch I prepped my squares.

1-IMG_1707

That made sewing a bit easier.

1-IMG_1719

 

Once my charm square were added time to clear un my square.  sorry for the terrible pic.

1-IMG_1722

 

Then give it a good press.

1-IMG_1723

 

 

Time to lay out the quilt before stitching it all together.

1-IMG_1726

Ha! It looks like a quilt! YAY!!!  Vibrant and Bright…so Cherry.

1-IMG_1742

I chose white as the backing as it seemed so quilty to me, lol.  After researching on the web to figure out how to piece the backing I am all done!   I decided to send my quilt to a longarmer to do the actual quilting.  So both pieces were sent to Miss Markers Quilts in Sodus, NY she has about a 3 week turnaround..can’t wait!  I let her choose the design since I had no idea can’t wait to see what she comes up with.  Next I need to figure out my binding color and quilt label while my quilt so affectionately titled First Quilt Ever is still at the long armer.

What a fun experience and a treasure.  I will definitely share once its all back, binding attached and labeled.

Toodles!

Emonie

 

PS.  The EYES..ack.  I have an appointment with the DR. that originally diagnosed me with dry eye almost 5 years ago..keep me in prayer.

 

Comments

  1. Simikoski, Charmaine says:

    Quilt looks great…goal accomplished. Love, love, love the bunny scissors.

  2. Congratulations on your first quilt – it turned out beautifully! Love this combination of pattern and fabric!

Leave a Reply

