My Introduction to Quilting

A few years ago I went to the Original Sewing and Quilting Expo and was not impressed.  I decided to give it another try this year.  There were some beautiful things on display.

1-IMG_1632

1-IMG_1631 1-IMG_1633 1-IMG_1634

This time I was looking for fabrics some for sewing and a mug rug.  I figured it would be a good way to introduce myself to quilting.   I really enjoyed myself.

1-IMG_1635

 

Lets take a closer look!

1-IMG_1636

 

Yay for modern fabrics!  I snapped up so some Amy Butler, Tula Pink fabrics.

1-IMG_1637

Porcupine Bobbin Holder-When sewing I switch thread so this porcupine is great (and cure) for switching bobbins in and out.

Goat Milk Soap and Hand cream from Frau Swiss Farms-The soap smelled sooooo good and the cream is oh so moisturizing.

Grabbit-Magnetic Pin cushion

Tape Measures-can NEVA have enough

3 Pouch Pattern from the show-Thought the pattern on the fabric was great

Tote bag and free gift from Pineapplefabrics.com

Lets talk about Pineapple fabrics!  I wanted to learn how to quilt.  Well the best way is to just dive right in!  Well that’s what I did I used the free sample from pineapplefabrics and I decided I wanted a Mug Rug.  I figured it would be a great first project.

1-IMG_1680

These precuts were 3 by 3 so I needed to see all the prints and what I could create.

I laid them all out and snapped a picture of the layout before I began to sew.

1-IMG_1681

 

 

 

Let the stitching begin!

1-IMG_1682

 

Press your seams flat.

1-IMG_1683

 

 

Once all square were attached it was time to put it all together.  Top, batting and backing.

1-IMG_1686

 

I based the rug down with safety pins.

1-IMG_1687

 

I drew my quilting lines and started quilting.

 

1-IMG_1690

 

Viola a quilted top!  now for the backing

1-IMG_1691

 

Time to make binding…
1-IMG_1693

Sew the binding..yay but finish by hand…hmmm

1-IMG_1694

Once the binding was attached time to finish it off.
1-IMG_1695

 

I used clover clips and began to hand bind.

 

1-IMG_1696

 

Here is my mug rug..woot woot.

1-IMG_1697-001I think I have just added a new hobby……:)

Toodles!

Emonie

Comments

  1. mamasbeeneez says:

    Gurl you are just a crafty genius….I love those colors….

Leave a Reply

