Knitting Pipeline Retreat 2015-Day 2

Day 2

I decided to wear my Mara Shawl it was my fist knitted shawl.  I was afraid to do the edging so I just stopped, lol.

mara

We began with Breakfast.  Although provided at the retreat since we were at the B and B we ate their.  Sooo nice.  My coworkers friend she grew up there was our server here name was Amy. Look at this killer hot chocloate.  It was Ginormous!

1-IMG_1509

After breakfast James dropped me off back at the church.  Just in time for the needle felting class..woot woot.  We made a flower…its reminded of my hair…LOL!

1-IMG_1516

1-IMG_9180

I sewed on the backing and pinned it to my shawl.

1-IMG_1517

let me say ….needle felting can be therapeutic…stab stab away. BE CAREFUL the needle has barbs but I had fun making it and got several compliments.

Shortly after door prizes began.  I didn’t win any but it was nice to see all the vendors as they gave door prizes away.

Lunch time!  Today was Pi Day=3.1415.  Everyone had fun with that one. Since were still stuffed we decided to hit the square.

1-IMG_1524

Oh this is a great quilt shop!  I restrained myself as I knew my fundage was for yarn goodness but I did a few things.  James picked out a pattern he wanted me to make too!

1-IMG_9183

A zipper, 6 inch ruler, the sew together bag by Sew Together Bag by Sew Demented.

1-IMG_1522

How cute is the little bib that was hanging!

1-IMG_1523

We also strolled through a shop called Step Back in Time, YOU MUST VISIT.  Love the creaking floors and vintage items.  I could have stayed in here ALL DAY.  We will be back but I did pick up a few things….

1-IMG_9143

That iron is so heavy death is immanent it if falls on you.  A vintage cast iron cornbread skillet, maple darning egg:) and a bunch of vintage threads and stuff.1-IMG_91441-IMG_9145

Iron on Corduroy patches, LOL.  I heart vintage goodie bags.

1-IMG_9146

To add history to our trip Abe Lincoln walked here.

1-IMG_1525

This candy store is evil. vintage candy….boston baked beans!!!!!…that’s all I have to say.1-IMG_1526

After we had some fun in the square and lunch we headed back.  There were some ladies sitting on the steps drop spindling using Turkish spindles.  Daizeknits encouraged me to try it……yes I ordered one from Turtlemade.   It seemed so much nicer than my bottom whorl spindles and the ladies were having so much fun.

1-IMG_1519 1-IMG_1518

After my spindle incident I had a chance to go over and take a close look at the shawl candy on display.1-IMG_1512 1-IMG_1514 1-IMG_1515

This caused me to add a few patterns to my cue:

MagicCake Ruffle Shawl

Upstairs Downstairs Cowl

Balsam Hollow

Gills Rock

Hyla Brook

we knit and chatted more.  Then the vendor market opened early.

1-IMG_9151

I stayed pretty close to my budget:)

Yarn Geek Fibers: Sarah

1-IMG_9177

Look at these rolags!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Angelina, Firestar and BFL

1-IMG_9178

Can you see the sparkly????  ahhh….

1-IMG_9169

When Sarah explained this colorway as one luckly winner received this as a door  price I think the meaning behind it pulled an everyones heart strings.

1-IMG_9170

Colorway: Knitting Pipeline Spring 2015 Retreat Male Cardinal colorway

Sun Valley Fibers: Jeanette

1-IMG_9175

How pretty is this!

1-IMG_9176

Walnut and Maple Yarn Buddy

Fat Squirrel Speaks Fibers-Amy Beth

1-IMG_9154

2015 Commemorative Project Bag

1-IMG_9155

Heritage Hill Farm-Julie

Her and James chatted for quite a while about healthy living.

1-IMG_9174

Leister Long wool and Shetland This is a long wool looks Like I better work on my long draw.

Leading Men Fiber Arts-Steve

1-IMG_9167-001

Colorway Perfection Call back Base

Ogle Designs-Kim

1-IMG_9171

Coloration in Worsted Colorway 605827

When  purchased the yarn I received the slipstitch cowl and the wave cowl Pattern.

Kitchen  Counter Crafter-JavaJennie

1-IMG_9163

Super cute Stitch Markers and notebook

We had a great time!  I encourage to not let going alone deter you. See you next year Paula and Friends!

Fiber Fabulousness!

Emonie

Comments

  1. mamasbeeneez says:

    That trip seemed fantastic…I would like to tag along to see one day..you mentioned something called yarn something here…I’m interested in goin….Holla back n let me kno…toodles!!!!

  2. Hey doll! Yes we must go next year!!!!! oh yarn buddy its what you put your skein on as you knit so it revolves and your yarn doesn’t run all over the place!

Leave a Reply

