Winter Getaway and Haul Part 1-Galena, IL

The husband and I took a trip to Galena Illinois(again:))and Dubuque IA over the weekend.  We had a great time, ate TOO MUCH and really enjoyed spending time together.  Galena is the one place in Illinois that the glaciers did not touch so it looks like San Francisco!  B-E-A-U-T-F-U-L.  Its also the place of President US. Grants home.  There is sooo much history there.  Also a few resorts, B&B’s,  boutiques, restaurants, landmarked homes and beauty all around.  Here is the cute villa we stayed in.

This was a 2 bedroom house.  HIGHLY RECOMMEND

This was a 2 bedroom house. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

What’s interesting is there are two speciality hobby stores in this mostly touristy area, Ink and Stamp with Sue and Fiberwild.  What a treat!  I enjoy going into local hobby stores while traveling it just makes me happy.

Fiberwild-is a beautiful shop with most of your traditional yarn shop brands-Cascade, malabrigo oh they do have tons of sock yarn too.  Addi’s were on sale so I had to pick up another sock rocket:). She had about four or five 4 oz fiber colorways also but no spinning tool.   There samples were really nice too.  Its a nice size and the staff were helpful as well.  I find myself always looking for the indie dyer and reminding myself to support the LYS as well.

1-IMG_0354

 

Next we stepped into Ink and Stamp with Sue.  This is an equally as large store which included Art, stamping and scrapbook supplies.

2-IMG_0666

 

1-IMG_0665

I purchased a few things to add to my Journal Your Christmas Album for 2015. Such a teenie haul:) but I love cut apart sheets.

1-IMG_7824

1-IMG_7825

I heart this one too!

 

1-IMG_7829

1-IMG_7830

This maybe my 2015 JYC kit….I love the colors..gray..ahhhhhh

If you are ever in Galena I encourage you to support these local craft shops.

Merry Craftmas!

Emonie

 

Leave a Reply

