My Sewing Origins

What made you want to sew?  

Todays clothes are simply not made for my body type. Low waist, Low rise, sheer, crop top…skinny leg….ack.  Not for me so I decided I would learn to sew my own clothes.

How did you get into sewing?

I come from a long ….family of sewers since the 1600’s lol Ha I have no idea how far back sewing goes in my family  but my mom , grandmother, grandfather and uncle can sew!  In fact, my great-grandmother was a seamstress I’ve been told. She’d long retired by the time I came along.  I wish I could say my mom or grandmother taught me but when they tried I wasn’t interested.  Then about 5 years ago I decided I wanted to learn!  Hello You tube.

What was your first Garment?

old laptop 985

Pajamas Pants!  I remember looking for beginner sewing class and it was $100 for pajamas pants….ugh…NO.  So I headed off to Joanns for a pattern!  I grabbed me some fabric after trying to figure out how to read the requirements. It took me 5 hours and the pattern was on 2 pieces but I was determined to learn to read a pattern.  I sent this pic to my mom and she squealed Emonie!  You did good girl you lined the prints up.  crickets. I did what?  She laughed and said look at the pants you matched the flowers.  I was like …OH..Ha Go ME.  Feeling successful I decided to make a house coat!

old laptop 1082

This experience was too funny.  I remember sewing the belt loops on and decided to try it on.  What happened to the belt loops…I had sew them in the inside!  Nice introduction to the seam ripper:).

As with all things the more you sew the better you become and I did get better.  Share you stories or link to your first sewing projects.  I’d love to see.

Happy Stitchin,

Emonie

Comments

  1. I had to beg my mother to teach me to sew! You did line up the prints on your first try – nicely done! Been seeing since I was a child and don’t even remember my first project.

    Keep up the good work :).

  2. I just found your blog today and I have enjoyed reading it. I like getting to know other crafters in this area (I live in NW Indiana and work in Chicago’s West Loop). Reading your “bio” was a bit like reading my own. I enjoy all things crafty.

    I don’t have any photos of my first “real” sewing project by I certainly remember it. I made my outfit for my eighth grade graduation. My mom taught me to sew when I was about nine years old and have been hooked every since.

    • Hi Tcue! Yes we are Bio sisters! Greetings midwest neighbor. Your commute sounds like mine also. Go head making your graduation outfit isn’t great to see how far you’ve come. Even if you don’t have a picture I love that you were able to go right to that memory. Craft on Sista!
      Emonie

Leave a Reply

