A False Start with Sweet Georgia Pomegranate

Ok I think I may have bit of more than I could chew here….say hello to Pomegranate 75%BFL and 25% Tussah Silk from Sweet Georgia yarns.   I knew I wanted to try a  solid Tonal fiber and that I would chain ply it.  Ok here goes!

1-IMG_1827

 

1-IMG_1828-001

 

The Plan:

Chain Ply

shoot for fingering

Pray!

My Experience:

I know you need more twist when you spin thinner and when you are plying a yarn so I am going to keep that in mind.

At the start….trouble.

No uptake???

if I treadled to the left(Z).uptake?

treadle crazyfast nothing?

Stupid Leader…lets get a new one

Now its time to get up from your seat a take a look….ugh I didn’t have the nut screwed after changing my bobbin….LOL  Start anxiety over:)  Lets try this again.

Ahh…there we go smooth uptake on the wheel…Finally.  As I was spinning I wanted to document what I was creating….on purpose or not.

 

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

 

After watching Judith Mackenzie McCuin Gentle Art of Plying I often ply back to check my twist.  I am learning so much about this hobby its just fantastic

1-IMG_1889

 

Darnit!!!  So thin it Broke!!!  I had to use a toothpick to find my FIBER!  I found it though!!

 

1-IMG_1894

 

Well I found my rhythm and finished the bobbin.  Its super pretty!

1-IMG_1896

Plying-Navajo or Chain Plying

I knew I wanted to Navajo ply this yarn as  I need to keep practicing. The first 10 mins were great and  I believe I lost my concentration its one of those things that you have to stay in rhythm…if you have tried then you know what I mean.  I did have some instances where I used the Susan Anderson method using the baby pinky finger guide..then I just lost my groove.  I found myself pushing my fiber to the wheel..not sure what happened but I will keep practicing none the less.

1-IMG_2050

 

I though this was really fine…and it was until the inconsistencies showed them selves but that’s the beauty of handspun for sure my handspun:)

 

 

1-IMG_2051

11 wraps per inch-worsted weight

and here she is!

1-IMG_2055

Pinktober 124 Yarns Worsted Weight Fingerless Mits

Happy Spinning!

Emonie

Ravelry: Emoniedezigns.com

Leave a Reply

