One Proud Momma

Howdy!

Oh this year my One Little Word was LEARN and I am sticking to it this year!  I have learned so much about spinning, fibers all tht comes with it I want to share!

Remember I purchased a  ton of samples so I could  basically play around with different fibers.

1-IMG_6278

1-IMG_6279

1-IMG_6280

1-IMG_6281

 

This was very helpful it gave me an idea of what different fibers were like, consistency, coarseness, softness all the above.  I have not spun anything that I am super proud of yet but….I am spinning and making great progress.  I am going to share the finished  Falkland  sample with you and  I am going to call it blood orange:).

1-IMG_6440

Super soft and well prepared. Ready to Spin!

Until I am more knowledgeable I look up each fiber in the Fleece and Fiber Source Book so I will know what is best for this fiber.

1-IMG_6444

One bobbin all ready to go

1-IMG_6446

2 Bobbins ready for a 2 ply

1-IMG_6490

Bobbins on the tensioned Lazy Kate

1-IMG_6492

Rubber band tension 🙂

1-IMG_6493

1-IMG_6655

As I expected more fiber on one bobbin due to inconsistent spinning but hey I am learning.

1-IMG_6650

Wonky but plied! into a nice bulky weight…yay and super squishy.

1-IMG_6656

Figured out the Niddy Noddy

64 Yards of Bulky Weight..proud momma!

64 Yards of Bulky Weight..proud momma!

What I learned:

Plying is not easy,lol.  It will take as much practice and understanding as Spinning the fibers themselves.

Practicing pays off

How to use a niddy noddy

A tensioned Kate still needs to be controlled

I REALLY need to practice the Z twist more.

 

Happy Learnings!

Toodles!

Emonie

Emoniedezigns on Ravelry

 

Leave a Reply

