Spinning-Understanding Spinderella, My Wheel

 

Spinning Wheel

Hello!

I wanted to continue my spinning series hopefully to help another new spinner out there.

Start Here.

Then Here.

All caught up…Great!

I watched several videos just so I could understand “how” a spinning wheel works.

Knit Picks Spinning Wheel Tutorial  Series-Most Helpful.  When I first began knitting Knit Picks podcast was the first podcast I ever listened too and I learned sooo much from Kelly.  I purchased this book by Hands on Spinning by Lee Raven.  Its not a new book but the principles and techniques are the same.  The book covers spindle and wheel  spinning.

There are several video on explaining the different parts of a wheel so I trust you will research and review.

I had all kinds of issues just getting started

I began treadling…ugh well not exactly.  I would not go around..I mean the big wheel would not go around.  Lesson: I had the footmen on backward.  I went back to the instructions  and switched pedals.  I then took my hand and gave the big wheel(Drive Wheel) and it made one revolution.  Keep in mind I know it sounds silly but when this if your first time and you don’t have any one to ask you forget. So I started again.

I only treadled.

I treadeled more

I went clockwise

I went counter clockwise

Nothing I grabbed some acrylic yarn and tied a slip not around the bobbin and it kept slipping around the bobbin.  I followed Kelly instructions and used yarn instead of fiber. It twisted but didn’t wind on the bobbin. :(.  Ok so I grabbed some Wensleydale combed top from WCMercantile.

il_570xN.127513293

I was ready! I added the yarn to my leader and it flew out of my hand but I didn’t lose it..yay but then it was curling crazy and not winding to the bobbin. some of it would wound and some not.  Hmmm This happened to me for about 2 weeks as I spun when.  Here are my observations:

I could treadle both ways

I got the wheel to go in one revolution

I COULD get the flyer to spin and the bobbin to remain still.

Oh my I got something…..something indeed, lol

first yarn

Some of it was twisting…some not.  I couldn’t get it to draft so the twist was running everywhere.  I was getting a twisty mess but that’s ok..I am learning.  I got some fat spots and thin spots.

photo

After my twisty mess I couldn’t get anything  else to wind on the bobbin…. boo!

The yarn and the bobbin were  both spinning a the same speed.  That should not be.  Fail!

I went back to the internet  try and figure it out.  I know it was me since the make, Jerry had spun yarn on it when Spinderella (my wheel) arrived.

1-IMG_6046

The bobbin arrived with spun yarn on it.  Good to know as Jerry tests each wheel before shipping

I wonder if the flyer and the bobbin are stuck together so I took it apart…again….and again….and once more.  Meanwhile  since  I KNOW I am going to be a spinner I ordered more supplies, LOL.  I got an extra bobbin,  a jumbo bobbin and flyer and an extra drive band.  I AM GOING TO BE A SPINNER…..PERIOD

1-IMG_6338

I switched fiber to some BFL…same thing.  I watched Kelly’s videos series again but I had a fresh mind.  Lesson: Walk away.  Process in your mind HOW the wheel works.

This weekend I was refreshed and anew.  I read in the Hands On Spinning that the Bobbin and the Drive wheel move a different speeds.  Ah that solidified it! it does move but at a slower pace as to wind the yarn.  This just replayed in mind over and over.

I sat at my wheel again

used a leader that was wool so it would grab the fiber

grabbed my some new BFL fiber…

il_570xN.460062979_a99s

This time I was going to think about the wheel.

I was treadling at warp speed at first, what if I slow down, that way even if the bobbin turned it would take the yarn….Let’s start over.

I pre-drafted my fiber and let it split how it wanted.

Since BFL staple length is 3-4 inches that’s how far I kept my hands apart.

This time I was going to treadle slower so the yarn could wrap around the bobbin.  I pre drafted the fiber being sure to leave enough to actually draft onto the bobbin.  I could not draft the Wenslydale but I knew that I need to get to the point I could draft the fiber while spinning.  This time I controlled the uptake so it wouldn’t fly out of my hand…yes I’m getting it.  I used the inchworm method sometimes I lost it, sometimes I didn’t.  I switched hand and inch wormed…trying to find whats comfortable.  For the first time I was controlling what was happening.  When it broke I added in more fiber…I had so many little broken pieces I was going to town adding them in and getting practice.  I did this for about 30 mins and my yarn out put was better on Monday Memorial Day

yarn

 

I was so excited to get a rhythm with my hands and feet.  This is not pretty but you can definitely tell progress has been made.  So if this is your first wheel don’t give up I know I’m not.

When  I got in from work I finished the fiber and was on the wheel for about 35 minutes…this is what I ended up with.  I am pleased with my progress.

1-IMG_6360

Wheel:  Honeybee SpinningWheel 

Fibers: WC Mercantile, Wintryflowerbydesign

Happy Spinning!

Emonie

http://www.Emoniedezigns.com

Ravelry

Instagram

Twitter

Leave a Reply

